Contact Us

Andrew Dennis, DO, FACOS
Director, External Operations/M-FAST

Phone: (312) 864-2733

The Cook County Trauma & Burns Unit welcomes residents from multiple disciplines and throughout the Chicagoland area to rotate through the Level 1 Unit.

Surgical residents from Rush University, The University of Chicago, UIC, as well as Midwestern University rotate through the service during both their junior and senior years of training.

Emergency Medicine residents also rotate through the trauma unit during multiple years during training, and come from a variety of programs including Cook County Hospital, Northwestern University, Midwestern University, and Resurrection Medical Center. Furthermore, occasional pediatric and family medicine residents from Cook County Hospital, as well as Emergency Medicine residents from Canada, round out the team.

Medical student rotations are available during their 4th year.  This is an advanced surgical rotation and students come not only from throughout the United States, but internationally as well.

A one year trauma surgery fellowship, as well as a one year burn fellowship is also available.


The Cook County Trauma Burn Unit has 13 clerkship positions available on the trauma service and 6 clerkship positions available on the burn service. The 4 to six week trauma clerkship is limited to those students in their fourth year who have completed their core rotations in medicine and surgery. The 4 week burn rotation is available to medical and PA students in their third years.

The Cook County Trauma Burn Unit at the John Stroger Jr. Hospital of Cook County (Cook County Hospital) was the first such unit in the world and it is steeped in the history of Cook County Hospital. The Trauma Unit treats approximately 5000 level 1 trauma patients annually with approximately 40% of these patients requiring surgery by either the trauma service or other surgical subspecialty services. The Unit is under the control of the Department of Trauma and Burn and remains a separate entity from the Departments of Emergency Medicine and Surgery. Our patients are initially seen in our 15 bed resuscitation unit and further care is offered in our 10 bed step down / observation unit and our 12 bed trauma ICU. Additionally, all burn patients are managed by the Trauma Burn Unit.  Burn care is continued in the 6 bed burn ICU or the 12 bed burn wound care unit.

This clerkships provides the student constant interaction with our rotating resident staff, which usually averages twenty in number and draws primarily from the specialties of General Surgery and Emergency Medicine.  The experience is structured to provide the student with a strong foundation in traumatic resuscitation, critical care and trauma surgery.  And the Burn clerkship is intended to offer the student a comprehensive experience in burn resuscitation, critical care and burn surgery.  In addition to the strong clinical experience, the clerkships attempt to provide structured didactics three days per week. Lectures are given by the trauma and burn surgery attending staff in addition to our other clinical specialists. They focus on issues such as the basics of trauma and burn care, critical care pharmacology and nutrition. Students and residents are required to attend the trauma service clinic once weekly.

This clerkship is highly recommended for those students who plan to pursue a residency in emergency medicine, general surgery or orthopaedic surgery. Cook County Hospital maintains a principal academic affiliation with Rush University School of Medicine and the Trauma Burn Unit maintains additional relationships with the University of Chicago, Northwestern University, Midwestern University and Resurrection Health Systems.

Clerkships are offered based on our current affiliate agreements and via first come first serve to visiting medical and PA students.

Students are encouraged to apply for the clerkship by calling Adriana Garcia at (312) 864-2733 email or by accessing our website at or at

Clinical Operative Fellowship

The Cook County Trauma Fellowship is a one-year clinical fellowship designed to prepare surgeons to assume a leadership role in trauma care. The fellowship provides exposure to injury prevention, trauma systems planning, education of prehospital personnel, resuscitation, in-depth surgical experience, critical care, rehabilitation and trauma registry functions. This program is not intended to replace an accredited critical care fellowship. One fellow is selected each year.

We also participate in the Surgical Critical Care, Trauma, & Burn Fellowship Program. Our program is intended to be a two-year program, and currently is split up into two separate years with year one spent as the ACGME Surgical Critical Care fellow in the Department of Surgery and the year two spent as an operative trauma/burn fellow in the Department of Trauma & Burn.

For more information about the fellowship, or to obtain an application, contact:

Kimberly Nagy, MD, FACS
Program Director, Trauma Fellowship

Previous trauma fellows include:

  • Marcel Martin, MD (1987-88) Montreal, Quebec
  • Julio Peguero, MD (1988-89) Puerto Rico
  • Michael Bannon, MD (1989-90) Mayo Clinic; Rochester, MN
  • Kimberly Nagy, MD (1992-93) Cook County Trauma Unit; Chicago, IL
  • Kimberly Joseph, MD (1993-94) Cook County Trauma Unit; Chicago, IL
  • Frederick Brenneman, MD (1994-95) Sunnybrook Hospital; Toronto, Ontario
  • Jeffrey Nicholas, MD (1995-96) Grady Memorial Hospital; Atlanta, GA
  • Cynthia L. Leslie, MD (1996-97)
  • Frederick Beavers, MD (1997-98)
  • Florence Mui, MD (1998-99) Vancouver, BC
  • Steven Saizman, DO (1999-2000) Christ Hospital; Oak Lawn, IL
  • Catherine Cagiannos, MD (2000-01) Cincinnati, OH
  • Dorion Wiley, MD (2001 -02) Cook County Trauma Unit; Chicago, IL
  • Andrew Dennis, DO (2002-03) Cook County Trauma Unit; Chicago, IL
  • Joseph “Stryker” Rodriguez, MD (2003-04) University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
  • Frederic Starr, MD (2004-05) Cook County Trauma Unit
  • Heena Patel, MD (2007-08) University of Massachusetts, Worcester, MA
  • Nicole Piscatelli, MD (2010-2011) John C. Lincoln Hospital, Phoenix, AZ
  • Matthew Kaminsky, MD (2012-13)