Awards & Recognition

Stature and standards of medical care at high.

Dr. Connie Mennella is CCHHS’ 2017 Doctor of the Year

Dr. Connie Mennella, Chairperson of the Department of Correctional Health at Cermak Health Services, was named Cook County Health & Hospitals System’s 2017 Doctor of the Year. Dr. Mennella was selected from more than 80 doctors, who were all nominated… [Read More]


The Joint Commission Recognizes John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital’s Stroke Program

The Cook County Health & Hospitals System’s (CCHHS) John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital has been awarded Advanced Certification as a Primary Stroke Center by The Joint Commission, in recognition of its long-time success in improving outcomes for stroke patients. The… [Read More]

Krishna Das MD

Dr. Krishna Das Recognized as National Patient Safety Expert

  Krishna Das, MD, Chief Quality Officer for Cook County Health & Hospitals System (CCHHS), was named to Becker’s Hospital Review list of “50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety.” This national list recognizes preeminent health care providers, administrators,… [Read More]


Mark Loafman Named Chair of Family & Community Medicine

Mark Loafman, MD, MPH, was recently appointed Chair of the Family and Community Medicine Department at Cook County Health & Hospitals System (CCHHS). An Oak Park resident for 22 years, Dr. Loafman will lead the department of 60 family physicians… [Read More]

Oak Park Village Hall - Dr. Bernard Fantus

CCHHS Blood Bank Founder Dr. Bernard Fantus Honored

When Dr. Bernard Fantus started the first-ever blood bank nearly 80 years ago at Cook County Hospital, he was looking for a way to ensure that patients in dire need of a blood transfusion wouldn’t have to endure a frantic search to… [Read More]

Mark B. Mycyk, MD, FACMT, FACEP

Dr. Mark Mycyk named Editor in Chief of the Journal of Medical Toxicology

Dr. Mark Mycyk has been named Editor in Chief of the Journal of Medical Toxicology, the foremost journal for Medical Toxicologists in the United States. Board-certified in Emergency Medicine and Toxicology, Dr. Mycyk is our Director of Toxicology Research, Department… [Read More]

Moses S. Lee, MD, FACEP, FAAEM

Dr. Moses Lee receives EMSC Award from Illinois Department of Public Health

Dr. Moses Lee has received the Emergency Medical Service for Children (EMSC) Award for Support and Commitment of EMSC from the Illinois Department of Public Health. He has been a member of EMSC’s Pediatric Emergency Preparedness Workgroup as a subject… [Read More]


CCHHS Announces 2014 Doctor of the Year

CHICAGO – The Cook County Health & Hospitals (CCHHS) announced today Doctor Tom Patrianakos, Division Chair of Ophthalmology was named Doctor of the Year, Cook County Health & Hospitals System. “Dr. Patrianakos is a physician who is fully behind the… [Read More]

Doctor with Patient

Sensitive Medical Topics

By Lisa Bertagnoli – Harry Walker, a retired truck driver for United Parcel Service, doesn’t nap anymore—and sleeps better at night. Rather than go by just how he feels, he uses a glucose meter to manage his diabetes. He enjoys… [Read More]

Phelan Dedication

CCHHS Dedicates Specialty Care Atrium to County Board President

CHICAGO– Cook County Health & Hospitals System CEO Dr. Ram Raju, Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, and CCHHS Chairman of the Board David Carvalho today announced the dedication of the new Specialty Care Atrium to former Cook County Board President Richard… [Read More]

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >